What if bus stops were designed as if bus stops really mattered?

By Kaid Benfield
Published: June 20, 2012
Sustainable Cities Collective

When I was a kid growing up in Asheville, bus stops were marked with stenciled lettering on utility poles.  It was fairly primitive, other than perhaps at the busy downtown transfer points, Pritchard Park and Pack Square, where if I recall correctly there was some indication of which routes stopped at which points.

Although the experience was pretty basic, I took the city buses everywhere.  Underage for driving, I didn’t have access to a car, and the place was big enough that many things I wanted to do – visit friends, go to school, go to the tennis courts, buy music, whatever – required transit, especially with both my parents busy working.  I liked being independent and enjoyed being able to get around.

Read the rest of the post here

Leave a Reply

